

## Call for Comment on the ACOTE Educational Standards

The Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE®) has begun the process of review and revision of the current accreditation Standards (<a href="https://acoteonline.org/accreditation-explained/standards">https://acoteonline.org/accreditation-explained/standards</a>/) the 2018 Accreditation Standards for a Doctoral-Degree-Level Educational Program for the Occupational Therapist, Accreditation Standards for a Master's-Degree-Level Educational Program for the Occupational Therapy Assistant, and Accreditation Standards for an Associate-Degree-Level Educational Program for the Occupational Therapy Assistant.

These Standards establish the critical competencies necessary to prepare individuals to become entry-level occupational therapists (OTs) or occupational therapy assistants (OTAs). The Standards review process begins every 5 years to ensure that they remain current and effective.

The comprehensive review process used by ACOTE® is designed to ensure participation by the broadest possible constituency. The process began with establishment of a new ACOTE Educational Standards Review Committee (ESRC) consisting of the following members:

- Patty Coker-Bolt, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA; ESRC Chairperson
- Barbara Seguine, MAEd, COTA/L, ROH; ESRC Vice Chairperson
- Amanda Amaro (student)
- Richard Cicero (consumer)
- Jewell J. Dickson-Clayton, OTD, MPH, ATP, OTR/L (AOTA observer)
- Kimberly Ganzevoort, COTAL, CNIS, FWEd (baccalaureate-degree-level program faculty)
- Eileen R. Garza, OTR, PhD, ATP, FAOTA (OT practice)
- Brenda Hughes, DrOT, MA, OTR/L, CAPS (capstone education)
- Ranelle Nissen, PhD, OTR/L (fieldwork education)
- Ketki D. Raina, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (doctoral-degree-level program faculty)
- Audrea Niccole Rowe, BA, COTA/L (OTA practice)
- Earl "Gip" Seaver, PhD (academic administrator)
- Mary Smith, EdD, OTR/L (National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy [NBCOT] observer)
- Sophia Uehara, MPH, COTA/L (associate's-degree-level program faculty)
- Donald E. Walkovich, DHSc, MS, OTR/L, FAOTA (master's-degree-level program faculty)

Dr. Teresa Brininger, Director of Accreditation, is serving as the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) staff liaison to the committee.

Effective standards emerge from the collective wisdom of the constituencies affected by the accreditation process. To begin the review process, a <u>Call for Comment</u> is sent to constituent groups, including all bodies within the AOTA organizational structure; the American Occupational Therapy Foundation, the American Occupational Therapy Political Action Committee, and NBCOT; OT and OTA educational program representatives (CEOs, deans, program directors, fieldwork coordinators); regulators (licensure boards, accreditors); students; and the public at large. An open hearing for comment will also be held at the joint Academic Leadership Council and Academic Fieldwork Coordinators meeting (October 2022), AOTA Annual Conference and Expo in Kansas City (2023), the Academic Leadership Council meeting (October 2023) and if needed, at AOTA Annual Conference and Expo in Orlando (2024).



The process for review and revision is expected to take 2 years. During the first year (2022) the constituent groups' input will be analyzed and draft Standards written. During the second year (2023) constituent groups will be asked for comment on the draft Standards. It is anticipated that the new Standards will be adopted in December 2023 and compliance will be required by July 2025.

The ESRC is seeking input from all interested parties. Comments may be submitted by completing the <u>Call for Comment</u> (<a href="https://forms.aota.org/forms/call\_for\_comment\_acote\_educational\_standards">https://forms.aota.org/forms/call\_for\_comment\_acote\_educational\_standards</a>) or by sending an email to the ESRC, c/o the AOTA Accreditation Department at <a href="accred@aota.org">accred@aota.org</a> (subject line: "Standards Review"). All comments must be submitted no later than <a href="March 31, 2022">March 31, 2022</a>.